About La Plata

La Plata is the capital city of the province of Buenos Aires and the 6th Argentine urban center in population. Located 56 kilometers to the south of Buenos Aires city, it is often called the “city of the diagonals” because of its design: it has the particularity of having been entirely planned with a very precise design that includes diagonals and squares every six blocks, among other features. La Plata dates back to 1882 and was built specifically to become Buenos Aires Province’s capital city once Buenos Aires city was declared as a Federal District. As such, it is of great importance and has become well–known as:

  • A university city: La Plata hosts many universities and study centers, the most important one being the Universidad Nacional de La Plata, which receives students from all over the country, and also from foreign nations.
  • A cultural city: it has many theaters –among them the Teatro Argentino, a very important theater at a national level–, cultural centers, museums –among them the Museum of Natural Sciences, internationally recognized in the field– and historical buildings –among them the Cathedral and the Casa Curuchet UNESCO world heritage site.
  • An administrative city: as the capital city of the main Argentine province (Buenos Aires), it is a very important urbe in terms of public administration and politics.

Because of these characteristics, La Plata hosts a great number of local, national and international events, being a much consolidated MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conferencing and Exhibitions) destination.

Information on tourism atractions and La Plata as a MICE destination can be found in the following guides:

We also share with you the following guides from the Province of Buenos Aires: